In New Mexico, automobile accidents sometimes occur due to a negligent driver or an overconfident driver’s incautiousness. Motorists sometimes text while driving, operate a motor vehicle when drunk, drive under the influence of drugs or drive without proper training.
At a recent press conference, federal transportation officials said that a new technology, which is soon to arrive, has the potential to reduce serious car crashes by up to 80 percent. However, even with this new technology, motorists must still buy sufficient auto liability insurance before driving on any roadway in the state.
Drivers in the state are required by law to buy at least the minimum amount of automobile insurance. Automobile insurance is required in order to pay for damages that arise from an accident. The insurance policy for the driver who is at fault pays for any damages to the other driver’s vehicle or any injured party.
The current minimum amount of auto liability insurance in needed in New Mexico is $25,000 per injured person in a single accident, $50,000 for two or more injured persons in one accident and $10,000 for property injured or destroyed in a single automobile accident. If an automobile driver in New Mexico does not have the minimum amount of auto liability prescribed by law, his or her vehicle registration may be suspended, delayed or denied until the proper insurance is purchased.
It is important to understand the law regarding auto liability insurance and follow it. Buying a sufficient amount of auto liability insurance helps protect life and property and offers financial and legal protection for all the parties involved.